Bursaries for South African students

University funding made easy

Electrical Engineering

1) Accenture Education Trust Bursary (2nd to 4th year)

Value Tuition fees, registration fees, examination fees, residence fees, book allowance for compulsory books, computer allowance in senior years.

Duration 1 year renewable, dependent on satisfactory academic performance etc

Tenable Rhodes University, University of Cape Town, University of Johannesburg, University of Pretoria, University of the Western Cape, University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)

Who can apply? Undergraduate Students in BSc / BCom Computer Science / Informatics, BEng: Electrical, Electronic or Industrial (2nd to 4th year). Must be South African citizens.

Service contract After completion of studies, graduates will be required to work for a period which corresponds to the duration of the bursary

Closing date 15 August annually

Accenture Education Trust
P O Box 1587
Kelvin, 2054
or download application form from:
Submit CV, academic transcripts and original form.

Apply online www.careers.accenture.com/southafrica

2) Anglo Gold (University of Technology only) Bursary – Mining, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering

Value Full tuition and residence fees plus an additional cash allowance

Duration Renewable annually for the duration of the course

Tenable Any university of technology offering engineering

Who can apply? For current matriculants or current university students wishing to study engineering. Matriculants must have Mathematics and Science with a minimum of 50%

Service contract Employment contractual obligation of one year for every year of bursary funded

Closing date 15 June annually

3) AVI FET Bursary Eng

Value R9,000 to R25,000 (max) p.a.

Who can apply? SA citizens interested in full-time National Certificate (Vocational), Diploma or N4-N6 studies in Engineering (Mechanical, Electrical, Millwrights, etc.) at South African FET Colleges.

Closing date 30 September annually

Apply Online www.studytrust.org.za/index.php/bursaries/bursary-categories/sponsored-bursaries/the-avi-bursary-programme

4) Exxaro Mining Bursary

About Exxaro offers bursaries only to candidates currently in Gr 12 (or to recently matriculated candidates) who will commence with first year studies in the next academic year (2015). The selection process occurs annually with the support of the Exxaro Community Development Practitioners at all Exxaro Business Units.

Fields of study Engineering – Civil, Electrical, Industrial, Metallurgical / Mining/ Geology

Who Can Apply South African citizens: BEng / BSc need NSC, 6 for Mathematics and Physical Sciences, 5 for English, BTech need NSC with 5 for Mathematics, Physical Sciences and English.

Value The bursary covers all tuition fees as well as:
• Book fees
• Residence fees
• Meals
• Miscellaneous cash allowance

Duration 1 year renewable

Service Contract Student will work for a period which corresponds to the duration of the bursary.

Closing Date 30 April annually

Contact Details Tel: +27 12 307 5000 / Fax: +27 12 323 3400

Roger Dyason Road
Pretoria West
South Africa

Apply Download application form: www.exxaro.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/102413-Exx-2014_Bursary-form_web.pdf

Complete the application form and hand it to an Exxaro representative or e-mail it to the Exxaro Business Unit nearest to you (see contact details above)

5) Institution of Certificated Mechanical and Electrical Engineers SA Bursaries (ICMEESA)

About Bursaries will be restricted to studies in either Mechanical or Electrical Engineering (Heavy Current) which is required by a student to eventually obtain the Certificate of Competency. The bursary will include studies at Technical College, University of Technology or University. The educational institution must have accreditation from ECSA. Only second year student applications will be considered.

Fields of study Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Who Can Apply Student studying either Mechanical Engineering, or Electrical Engineering (Heavy current), or studies for an Engineer’s Certificate of Competency. Students must already have passed their first year of study at University of Technology. FET College students must have already passed all the qualifying N3 subjects. Preference will be given to students who were previous year bursary holders of ICMEESA bursaries. Preference will be given to children of parents who are members of ICMEESA, with more preference to those members of 5 years and longer.

Value The bursary will cover the payment of tuition fees and text books, in part or whole, as decided by Council. Amount varies

Duration 1 year renewable

Service Contract No

Closing Date 30 June annually

Contact Details
Office No 5, Lakeside Two, Ernest Oppenheimer Ave, Bruma, 2026
P O Box 531, Bruma. 2026
Tel: (011) 615-4304

Apply Online www.icmeesa.org.za/modules/bursary/bursary_app.php

6) Peermont Education Trust Bursary (Residents of Ekurhuleni only)

Company P & T Technology

About The Peermont Education Trust, a youth upliftment initiative of Peermont Global Limited in partnership with P&T Technology, sponsors learnerships for previously disadvantaged youth in the Ekurhuleni area. For electrical learnership NQF funded for up to 3 years.

Fields of study Electrical Engineering, FET College

Who Can Apply Residents of Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, between ages of 18 and 22. This bursary is awarded to learners who have achieved a minimum Level 4 in Mathematics and Science and who are preferably able to speak English. This bursary is aimed at previously disadvantaged individuals from a household with a monthly income of less than R3000. Learners should already be registered at a recognized institution in Gauteng.

Value The Peermont Education Trust sponsors tools, work apparel – including safety boots, goggles and overalls – transport allowance for getting to and from the place of learning be it the training centre or the workplace, as well as a canteen card that provides one meal per day for each student.

Duration 1 year renewable

141 Lamp Road

P O Box 7104
Tel: (011) 827-4113/6


Apply www.emperorspalace.co.za/peermont/action/media/downloadFile?media_fileid=779


Bursaries South Africa 2017 © 2018 Cape Town | Johannesburg | Pretoria | Port Elizabeth | Durban | Pietermaritzburg | Bloemfontein | Limpopo Find more Bursaries at our sister site SA-Bursaries here: Bursaries